Celebrating Baby’s First Holidays and Festivals!

As a new mom, I am simply over the moon to share the holidays with my newborn.  So many firsts are in store for this little one and I plan to make sure that we enjoy them all. This includes both Indian and American celebrations, of which there are many between now and January.  First, up Halloween followed closely by Diwali, the Indian festival of lights.

For Halloween, I am more than ready!  I have the candy, my house is decorated, and the baby’s outfit is ready. I say outfit and not costume because at two months of age a costume may be more than my little one could handle.  After all, she can’t hold her head up yet. But she has an adorable outfit ready to go and I have already conceptualized how to snap awesome pictures of the big day. Next year, she will be in a costume (thinking lady bug) but for this year comfort reigns.

For Diwali, I am less ready. Diwali is celebrated by Hindu and Sikhs around the world.  Hindus pray to the Goddess Laxmi, the Goddess of prosperity. Sikhs celebrate Diwali to honor the day the sixth Guru Hargobind, was freed from prison.  As a mixed Hindu and Sikh household, I would like our daughter to learn about what Diwali means to both religions.  She is too small for this discussion this year but we will have some fun with the typical festival traditions, like lighting candles, putting lights on the house, buying gifts and generally praying for a prosperous year.

How did you celebrate your kids firsts Halloween and/or Diwali?  I would love to hear about it soooooooooo start talking.

Oh, speaking of Diwali, I am participating in the Verizon Twitter Diwali party on October 30th at 6PM. Join the conversation to share your Diwali traditions.  This new mom needs more ideas to make my daughter’s first Diwali a success! Here is the link –>  http://www.theonlinemom.com/secondary.asp?id=2469&t=a-special-online-mom-twitter-event

Leave a Reply

