In That Moment

As I got off the phone with the Nurse, her  peppy “Congratulations” as she told me I am in fact pregnant kept ringing in my ears.

Did this really just happen?

Am I really having a baby?

In that moment, the fear, desperation and hopelessness that encompasses dealing with infertility dissipated and was quickly replaced with joy, excitement and happiness.

I looked at my stomach, put my hand on my belly and said “Okay baby let’s do this.”

First call was to My Leading Man.  He had already texted and called multiple times throughout the day to see if I had gotten any news.  While he always tries play cool, I knew he was just as anxious as I was to get the news we were hoping for. He answers. I tell him that the news is good and he starts giggling.  It is his funny-I-feel-a-little-awkward-and-I-don’t-know-what-to-say-giggle, which basically meant he was elated.

Once we got off the phone, I took a moment to soak it in.  I thanked the Universe by closing my eyes, looking up to the sky and said “I am ready to take on whatever comes my way.”

And with that our Journey to Baby, really began.

4 thoughts on “In That Moment

  1. I stumbled upon your blog and your writing is a breath of fresh air, candid and down to the point 🙂 Congratulations ! Enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

