December 7 – To Do or Not To Do? That is the Question.

The doctor clearly instructed me to not eat any soft cheeses or raw meats until we know if I am pregnant or not.  But that simple instruction, while relatively easy to implement, got me thinking of all the other pregnancy dos and don’ts and whether or not I should eliminate more don’ts from my daily life now in preparation for becoming pregnant.

Take coffee for example.  Pregnant women are supposed to have no more than 100 – 200 miligrams of caffeine per day.  On a normal day I drink two cups of coffee in the morning and one again in the afternoon.  Since the typical cup of coffee has about 100 milligrams of caffeine, depending on the type of drink, I am consuming at least 300 milligrams of caffeine daily. That is waaaaayyyyy over the normal limit.  So I decided to decrease my caffeine consumption immediately by switching to decaf which has significantly less caffeine and restricting my coffee consumption to just one cup in the morning.  This is probably a good move whether I am pregnant or not.

The next area to consider was alcohol.  On a typical week, my husband and I probably enjoy a glass or two of wine at least three times a week.  While My Leading Man was away for three weeks, I would seldom if ever have a glass of wine.  So avoiding alcohol has been a surprisingly easy adjustment since I haven’t been drinking much over the last month and a half anyways. So I can easily put a check next to no alcohol.  Doesn’t seem to be a problem.

The area that will prove difficult is skin care.  Yes, skin care.  During my regular facial earlier today my esthetician informed me that there are numerous skin care projects I can no longer use once I am pregnant.  In fact, all of my most favorite products that I believe are responsible for the improvement in my overall skin quality over the last few years contain ingrediants that are not safe for expectant moms. Sadly I will have to give most of these fabulous products up if I am in fact pregant.

The prospect of implementing all of these changes all at once is a beyond daunting.  Do I really need to make all of these changes when I don’t even know if I am pregnant.

The answer is no.

As my esthetician pointed out there is no need to take on pregnancy restrictions until you actually know you are pregnant then as he so cheerfully said “just stop doing those things cold turkey.”  Besides, as he explained, the impact of alcohol, caffeine and even ingrediants in my skin care is less at the moment of conception (which is really the phase that I am in) verses once you are truly pregnant.

Point well taken.

While I may keep my switch to decaf coffee in place (since we all know how hard wheening oneself off of coffee can be) and while I think significantly reducing my alcohol consumption is another overall good practice, I think I will reserve the other changes until I have confirmation from the doctors that a baby is on the way.

5 thoughts on “December 7 – To Do or Not To Do? That is the Question.

  1. I was BEYOND neurotic when I was pregnant (and even when I thought I COULD be pregnant) Believe me, it’s easier than you think to go “cold turkey” then it is obsessing whether that piece of salami was worth it.

    I gave up virtually all cheeses unless the package specifically said pasteurized (even though I was told that all domestic cheese is pasteurized) all cold cuts (even if they were cooked is Hawaiian pizza, which I love) Alcohol was a non issue. Coffee was decaf…..

    I can go on including not colouring my hair.

    I wish all this will power carried over postpregnancy… I’m eating cheese again like it’ll never be available to me ever again! 🙂

    Good luck and hang in there!

  2. ps- to top it off, there was a ground beef recall up here for e-coli. Guess who had consumed said recalled product before it was recalled… you guessed it. Thank God, I was fine.

  3. Thanks for all of your fabulous inputs. Great tips and great advice! I have already given up everything sooooo let’s hope a baby is on the way because going without caffeine has been brutal!!! The rest of it I am handling pretty well.

Leave a Reply

